My go-to baby gift guide

We are at the age where a lot of our friends are having babies. That means lots of baby showers and lots of gifts to buy. I always buy something off of the registry for the baby showers, but once the new baby arrives, I like to have some fun with my gifts. I usually try to make one gift and purchase one gift.

I’ve put together a list of some of my favorite go-to gifts to buy for new babies and moms, as well as some of my favorite handmade gifts that I’ve given.

baby gifts board-01

1.  Tiny toms shoes found here. I think the colors and patterns are so fun. I usually buy them a little large, so it is something they can grow into.

2.  Boon squirt spoon found here but currently out of stock. These are perfect for feeding baby on the go. Just fill them, cap them, and toss them in your bag.

3. Sophie the giraffe… enough said. Bonus: Read the bottom review on the first page of amazon.com. It gave me a good laugh

4.  Personalized prints for the nursery. I love the selection that designsbynicolina has in her etsy shop.

5.  The Munchkin Dishwasher Basket is perfect for running all of the little bottle pieces through the dishwasher.

6. Arbonne baby has a selection of products from body wash to lotion to sunscreen that is super gentle for babies’ sensitive skin.

When my cousin had her twins, I bought Jcasa’s Best Bib Pattern to make. This was one of my first attempts at sewing from a pattern on my own, but she includes very detailed, easy to follow instructions. Here is one of my favorites. The fabric was all from the fat quarter section at Joann’s.

Image

There is batting between the front and back layers, and I tried my hand at free motion quilting. It was hard to get the hang of it at first, and I kept quilting myself into a corner. It took a bit of practice, but there really is no wrong way to do it. After I quilted it, I threw it in the washer and dryer to give it that puckered look.

Image
After conquering the bib pattern, I tried my hand at an adorable baby hat with this tutorial from thismamamakesstuff. She used old flannel shirts to make hers, but I used some new flannel fabric from Joann’s. Her tutorial was very easy to follow, and I love the results.

Image
Do you have any go-to baby gifts that you like to give? Or any fun gifts you’ve made?

Leave a Reply

