Bakery Kitchen Design Board

I spend my days working in my family’s appliance and cabinetry store, so I am surrounded by cabinetry, countertops, and appliances all day. Very dangerous if you ask me, because I’m always bringing home samples and coming up with new ideas for our house. Based on some inspiration from our own kitchen combined with my dream kitchen, I came up with a design board for a bakery style kitchen.
Bakery Kitchen-02For starters, the cabinetry –I always find myself drawn to white or painted cabinetry. I think white cabinets in a bright, window filled kitchen are perfection. The nice thing about painted cabinets is that you can pair them with a wood floor without worrying about the cabinets and floor clashing or being too matchy-matchy—two common mistakes. As for the door style, I like a simpler, vintage style flat panel door. One tip to mention if you are shopping for cabinets is to look for similar door styles in different brands. For example, the door I had originally picked for this inspiration board was Silverton by Dura Supreme, but you can find a very similar door style like Lincoln Square by Kraftmaid for less.

Bakery Kitchen-03I also love the look of concrete countertops, and we are considering them for our loft workspace. For a less labor intensive (and more durable) option for the kitchen, there are lots of quartz companies that have a similar look available. For that creamy grey color, I like Templeton by Cambria and Misty Carrera, London Grey, and Haze by Caesarstone. Pair with a light grey or white penny tile backsplash for a neutral look. I think it’s a good idea to keep the main components of a kitchen neutral and non-trendy, adding in color through paint and accessories. If your style changes down the line, it isn’t near as expensive to swap out accessories as it would be to change your cabinetry or backsplash.
Bakery Kitchen-04For the appliances, you could easily go stainless in a kitchen like this, but I love the new white ice collection from Whirlpool. The silver handles add just the right contemporary touch without being high maintenance like stainless can be. These definitely aren’t your grandmother’s white appliances. The one tip I have for doing white appliances with white cabinetry is to make sure your cabinets are a true white. If you pair bright white appliances with even a slightly-off white cabinet, it could make the cabinets look dirty.

I tried to keep the accessories functional, yet beautiful. You can’t go wrong with a Kitchenaid stand mixer in a fun color, and I love the idea of displaying baking ingredients in glass jars on an open shelf. It lends to that bakery feel and keeps them easy to access. You can also use unconventional items as art, like a beautiful cookbook or a set of pretty cookie cutters hanging on little hooks.Kitchen Design Board

Cabinetry // Countertops // Penny Tile // Appliances // Sink // Hardware // Faucet

Cupcake Love Print // Glass Jars // Cookie Cutters // Cake Stand // Cook Book // Stand Mixer // Measuring Cups

Mint // Grey // White // Peach // Copper

I hope to slowly add in decorative touches like this into our kitchen. I have plans to take off two cabinet doors for some open shelving display space, but we’ll see if Jerm will go for that or not.

How about you? Any kitchen reno plans for the future?

Leave a Reply

